Likud Beytenu


Likud Beytenu

Founded in 2012

Likud Beytenu is a joint list of the Likud and YisraelBeiteinu. The decision that these two parties would run for the 19th Knesset on a joint list was announced in October 2012 by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu (head of the Likud) and then Minister of Foreign Affairs Avigdor Liberman (head of Yisrael Beytenu).

The candidates of the two parties were determined separately; the Likud chose its candidates in party primaries, while candidates for Yisrael Beytenu were selected by an appointment committee headed by Avigdor Liberman. The joint list won 31 seats in the 2013 elections for the 19th Knesset. Although this is 11 seats less than the combined representation of the two parties in the 18th Knesset, it was enough to position the joint list as the largest list in the 19th Knesset. In July 2014, the joint list split and reverted to the two original parties.

Election Year Votes Count Seats Count Votes Percent List Of Candidates Platform
2013 19 31 23.3 Candidates Candidates

Benjamin Netanyahu, Avigdor Liberman, Gideon Sa'ar, Gilad Erdan, Yair Shamir.

Likud Beytenu is the ruling party in the 33rd government of Israel, which took office in March 2013. Beyond Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, 11 ministers from Yisrael Beytenu serve in the current government, including the Minister of Defense (Moshe “Bogie” Yaalon) and the Minister of Internal Affairs (Gideon Sa’ar). For all the ministers of the current government, see the bottom of the Elections and Parties main page.