• |
  • עברית
  • |
  • Book Store
  • |
  • Multimedia Gallery
  • |
  • Please send me the following Newsletters:

    Please choose a subject
    Please enter your name Please enter in english Please enter your name Please enter in english Please enter a valid email Subscribe Clear

    Thank you!

    You have been added to our mailing list.
    Our next newsletter will be sent to your e-mail.

  • |
  • Contact Us
  • |
  • Give
  • |

Israeli Elections and Political Parties

Israeli Elections

Find out about the results of Israel's Knesset elections by year. This tool includes information about all the parties that ran in a given year.


Israeli Political Parties

Find out basic information about Israel's political parties, their ideologies, prominent figures, electoral achievements, and representation in the government.


The Current Government

The current government, the 34th government, was sworn on May 14th, 2015, more than two months after the elections to the 20th Knesset. The government is headed by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, who is serving his fourth term in office.

Netanyahu's fourth cabinet is supported by a five-party coalition: Likud, Kulanu, Bayit Yehudi (Jewish Home), Shas and United Torah Judaism (UTJ). Together, these five parties holds a minimal majority of 61 MKs (members of Knesset). The cabinet includes 21 members: 12 from Likud, including the Prime Minister, three each from Kulanu and Bayit Yehudi, two from Shas, and from UTJ. 

The table below presents the current members of the government.

Position in Government Name Political Party
Prime Minister, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Communications, Economy, Regional Cooperation Benjamin Netanyahu Likud
Minister of Finance Moshe Kahlon Kulanu
Minister of Defense Moshe Ya'alon Likud
Minister of Education, Diaspora Affairs Naftali Bennett Habayit Hayehudi
Minister of the Development of the Negev and Galil Arye Deri Shas
Minister of Internal Affairs Silvan Shalom Likud
Minister of Internal Security, Information, Strategic Affairs Gilad Ardan Likud
Minister of Health Yaakov Litzman United Torah Judaism
Minister of Justice Ayelet Shaked Habayit Hayehudi
Minister of Tourism Yariv Levin Likud
Minister of Transportation, Intellignece Yisrael Katz Likud
Minister of Energy & Water Yuval Steinitz Likud
Minister of Construction Yoav Galant Kulanu
Minister of Welfare & Social Services Haim Katz Likud
Minister of Culture & Sport Miri Regev Likud
Minister of Agriculture Uri Ariel Habayit Hayehudi
Minister of Immigrant & Absorption Ze'ev Elkin Likud
Minister of Enviornmental Protection Avi Gabai Kulanu
Minister of Science, Technology & Space Ofir Akunis Likud
Minister of Religious Services David Azulai Shas
Minister for Senior Citizens Gila Gamliel Likud

Just a minute... You must agree to our Terms of Use

To download the data file, please complete the short form below. If the data file is updated or revised in the future, we will contact you via email.

Please note that the data on this site are the exclusive property of the Israel Democracy Institute (RA) and are being made available to you for the sole purpose of study or research. In the event that this information is published as part of a study or research, credit must be given as follows:

Data/ questionnaires courtesy of the Guttman Center for Surveys at the Israel Democracy Institute (RA).

We would also appreciate receiving a copy of the publication, since we are assembling a library of research that is based on the Guttman Center's studies. To read the Terms of Use, click here.

Mandatory fields are marked with asterisks (**)

** First name: Required field
** Last name: Required field
** Organization: Required field
** Country: Required field
** Email: Required field
Comments \ Questions:

Please approve the terms of use