Elections and Parties

  • Israeli Political Parties

    Learn about Israel's political parties, their ideologies, prominent figures, electoral achievements and representation.

  • Israeli Elections

    Find out about the results of Israel's Knesset elections by year. This tool includes information about all the parties that ran in a given year, including those that did not pass the electoral threshold.

Israel's 37th Government

The results of the 2022 elections pointed to a clear victory to the "Netanyahu Bloc". The four right-wing lists associated with this bloc won a majority of 64 seats and therefore the President of Israel tasked Netanyahu with forming the government. Despite initial statements that the goal was to establish a government "within two weeks", the coalition negotiations dragged on and finally the 37th government was sworn in only on December 29, almost two months after the elections. The government currently includes 33 ministers, including Bezalel Smotrich as Minister of Finance (in addition to the position of a Minister in the Ministry of Defense), Yoav Galant as Minister of Defense and Eli Cohen as Minister of Foreign Affairs.

Government Position Name Party
Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu Likud
Minister of Defense Yoav Galant Likud
Minister of Finance & Minister in the Ministry of Defense Bezalel Smotrich Religious Zionism
Minister of Foreign Affairs Eli Cohen Likud
Minister of Justice Yariv Levin Likud
Minister of Transportation Miri Regev Likud
Minister of Interior & Minister of Health Moshe Arbel Shas
Minister of Education Yoav Kish Likud
Minister in the Ministry of Education Haim Biton Shas
Minister of Economy Nir Barkat Likud
Minister of National Security Itamar Ben-Gvir Religious Zionism
Minister of Culture & Sport Miki Zohar Likud
Minister of Communications Shlomo Karhi Likud
Minister of Enviromental Protection Idit Silman Likud
Minister of Energy Yisrael Katz Likud
Minister of Housing Yitzchak Goldknopf United Torah Judaism
Government Position Name Party
Minister of Agriculture Avi Dichter Likud
Minister of Social Affairs Ya'akov Margi Shas
Minister of Labor Yoav Ben-Tzur Shas
Minister of Tourism Haim Katz Likud
Minister of Intelligence Gila Gamliel Likud
Minister of Immigration & Absorption Ofir Sofer Religious Zionism
Minister of Science & Technology Ofir Akunis Likud
Minister of Diaspora & Minister of Social Equality Amichai Chikli Likud
Minister of Religious Affairs Michael Malchieli Shas
Minister of Negev and Galil Yitzhak Wasserlauf Religious Zionism
Minister for National Projects Orit Strook Religious Zionism
Minister of Heritage Amichai Eliahu Religious Zionism
Minister of Infornation Galit Distel Likud
Minister without portfolio Meir Porush United Torah Judaism
Minister of Strategic Affairs Ron Dermer
Minister without Portfolio May Golan Likud
Minister in the Ministry of Justice & Minister of Regional Cooperation David Amsalem Likud