Press Release

"Forum of Former Ministers" of The Israel Democracy Institute on the MK Suspension Bill

"An Unnecessary Bill. We Need To Keep The Authority To Suspend MKs Within the Confines of the Current Legal System."

Former MKs say bill is unecessary.

"The Forum of Former Ministers," which meets at the Israel Democracy Institute and includes former ministers from across the political spectrum, released a statement Monday opposing the MK Suspension Bill, which was debated Tuesday by the Law, Justice and Constitution Committee.

In the declaration, signed by 20 former ministers, including Yossi Beilin, Dan Meridor, Ephraim Sneh and Yoram Aridor, the former ministers say they oppose the bill, which would enable MKs to disqualify their colleagues for incitement to violence or racism, support for armed conflict against Israel or negating Israel as a Jewish and democratic state.

"The proposal is unnecessary because the current law fully answers what must be done in the event of incitement for terror," they said in their statement. "The authority to deal with this issue must remain within the current confines of the current legal system."

The Forum of Former Ministers, which has met several times over the past year at IDI, discusses current issues that impact the public and parliamentary agenda.

The 20 former ministers who signed the statement are:

  1. Dan Meridor, Likud
  2. Yoram Aridor, Likud
  3. Yossi Beilin, Meretz
  4. David Magen, Likud
  5. Michael Eitan, Likud
  6. Ghaleb Majadleh, Labor
  7. Michael Melchior, Meimad
  8. Meir Sheetrit, Kadima
  9. Avraham Poraz, Shinui
  10. Shaul Yahalom, National Religious Party
  11. Amichay "Ami" Ayalon, Labor
  12. Haim Ramon, Kadima
  13. Roni Milo, Likud
  14. Uzi Baram, Labor
  15. Orit Noked, Labor
  16. Avraham Shochat, Labor
  17. Haim Oron, Meretz
  18. Ophir Paz-Pines, Labor
  19. Ephraim Sneh, Labor
  20. Yuli Tamir, Labor